Selebrating Sis’s Birthday

Have you heard of Pinoir and Picasso? Or Paint and Sip? I first became aware of this fun entertainment about four years ago but have never participated myself. It involves following the step-by-step instructions of an artist to produce something vaguely resembling their example.

The last time I did any artwork was way back in my first year at high school when it was compulsory. I was a woefully useless art student. We had an Egyptian teacher, a wonderful man who for some reason occasionally ate his lunch in his classroom. I think because I showed interest in his cuisine, and because clearly I was in need of comfort food after my latest abysmal attempt, he would sometimes share his baklava. The baklava, a painting of the roof of a railway workshop (which I thought was a row of slum terraces), and one of a horse with such a sway back it looked broken, are all I can remember about that part of my studies. It became an elective from second year onwards. Definitely not on my “must do” list. I took French and Home Science instead.

My sister, who is very artistic, decided that for her birthday we would do a home-based version of Pinoir and Picasso, and it was such a lot of fun! We started with a family brunch at a garden centre that has a café attached, and then gathered back at her house. Out the back under a pergola, we laid out a couple of trestle tables and set them up with easels, palettes, paints, canvases and cups of water. Rather than have a leader, my sister had printed off a range of pictures for us to choose what we would like to copy. Then we set ourselves up with a glass of pinoir (actually home-made sangria) and got to work (had to ensure we didn’t dip our paintbrushes in the sangria instead of the water – or take a sip from the paint-stained water, teehee).

We wrapped it up after an hour or so, so we could have some nibblies. I could have continued, because I was in the swing of it by then and finding that actually, I wasn’t as rubbish as I always thought. Not great. But not abysmal either. But others produced some outstanding results and were much faster than me. Here’s some photos to give you the idea. In the below photos, the original of the jellyfish, and the girl with umbrella is displayed beside the painting and you can see those artists got very close to the real thing. Birthday sister painted the blue palm trees on the back left, from the original on the far right. My nephew and I both chose the Kombi van. The painting on the left is his effort, and mine on the right. My stepmum did the pineapple that is on the white canvas. She didn’t get the memo about painting a backwash first 🙂 . Bill’s is the one peeping out from the rear. I’ll have a better shot further down.

We’ve had some wonderful covid-limited family celebrations under this pergola over the last year: pre-wedding, 21st, 60th, graduation to name the highlights. My sister always decorates fabulously and puts on a cheerful spread. Then out come the camera phones all at once and nobody knows where to look 🙂

Here’s two generations of mums and daughters. My niece had made and iced the cake:

And here, my nephew gets in on the act:

Before a bunch of us pile in:

And to sign off, here is Bill’s surfboard shack:

And my Kombi – which looks more like a little bus 🙂

I haven’t been blogging or commenting much as I have once again been concentrating on writing. I have one narrative non-fiction professionally edited and looking for a home; and now I have turned my attention to a historical novel. Both of which rely heavily on my weird family history on the Anglo side – which has nothing to do with this side of the family. Confused?

Wishing you, wherever you are, a happy and safe weekend. Where we are, the rain has been ceaseless. You know just how wet it is when you look out over a flooded golf course and see two black swans swimming on it!

34 thoughts on “Selebrating Sis’s Birthday

  1. Pingback: A Ramble about Reading | The Reluctant Retiree

  2. You can send some of that excess rain my way, Gwen. Now, having a glass of wine while attempting to paint is exactly how you would get me motivated to tap into my inner artist. What a lovely idea, and way to celebrate a birthday. That cake looks so delicious. I would have definitely cut the painting short for the nibbles. 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    • The rain is getting beyond the pale now Jolandi. Massive floods, lives and livestock lost, road closures, supermarket shortages, etc, etc, etc. The low pressure cell has moved south to our area. Personally no flood, but schools are calling for the children to be collected by their parents, and the State Emergency Service (all volunteers) are under immense pressure. Our only problem is a pesky window leak. Water runs inside the wall cavity (from where?) and wets the carpet.
      My niece is a great cook. That was a carrot cake. And it was delicious.
      Next winter might be the time to stock up on wine and art supplies?

      Like

  3. What a great idea. I hadn’t heard of it before, but think it’s brilliant of a family party especially one of mixed ages. Copying is so much less daunting than starting with a blank canvas and no ideas. Loved all the versions you’ve pictured and think it really shows that everyone can express themselves visually and enjoy doing it. The sangria probably helped too 😉 Good luck with the non-fiction hope you find a publisher for it soon. PS I think your VW camper looks very jolly.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I have to say I surprised myself. Especially with tinting the paints to almost the same as the original. I’d do it again, but wonder if I’d pull it off a second time. Anyway, I quite like my little Kombi. I thought it was jolly, too. Perhaps it will inspire you to suggest such a party theme?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’d like to think we could have a family party and do this, but the three youngsters are still too posey to ‘do’ anything. Also, we have a very serious prof in the clan and, well, let’s just say he doesn’t do ‘visual’.

        Liked by 1 person

    • ps the narrative non-fiction ‘Florence & Lucy’ is a long way from mainstream. Alternating chapters of my voice, search and research, alternating with my novelised interpretation of real events. My goal was to explore the relationship between illegitimacy and intergenerational trauma, disadvantage and poverty – linking in to my memoir. I conclude with a changed outlook on the root causes. It’s a tough sell. But I’ve got that off my chest 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        • That’s an interesting thought. This is how I have pitched it in the synopsis at the moment “Florence & Lucy is about the fragility and resilience of women facing inequality and poverty. Sitting in the realm of untold women’s histories, it is for lovers of social and family history, and those who seek real stories of how women coped in an era when their respectability and opportunities were tied to marriage.”

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear Gwedoline,
    that realy reads and looks like you had a lot of fun. It’s a perfect way of communicating. And well done, your pictures look great.
    Wishing you a wonderful weekend
    The Fab Four of Cley
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The get together looks such fun Gwen!! And I like the idea of painting, you did well! By the way I didn’t want to keep encroaching on John’s blog with “our” Leeton memories so I waited for a new post from you. So the New Horizons project was for quick cooking rice and was set up in the old Letona cannery. And we here in Sydney have had plenty of rain as well. We went to the movies this arvo to kick off the weekend. Have an enjoyable one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, I remember the project being discussed. At the time I raised my eyebrows and commented to the marketing team that it took such a little time to cook rice, easily done while you prepared other ingredients, why would we want ‘instant’ rice? They told me I was known as what they called a scratch cook and many younger people didn’t know how to do it 🙂
      And I remember walking through the old cannery site when it was still in its dilapidated state.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Actually Gwen, the idea came from Uncle Ben’s flavoured, microwavable pouches and Sanjay had been to a couple of “production” places to check out the equipment and place orders on suppliers. With Indian heritage, I’d never buy these pouches or cups!! I believe these are quite popular now that people lead such busy lives! And rice is gluten free so that’s another reason for their popularity. When did you last go to Leeton? Yesterday, I bought some orange blossom honey that was harvested in Leeton. I’ll always love Leeton!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ah yes. I remember now about the Uncle Ben’s inspiration.
          I haven’t been to Leeton for years now. I think the last time we stayed at the old hotel which was built for the irrigation workers back in the early 1900s. When I was sent for work I used to stay in a three bedroom B&B. I used to dream that when it went on the market we might buy it and my husband could run it while I worked in the Leeton office. Haha. Got sold to a doctor before I heard about it. Leeton is a wonderful town.

          Like

  6. Marvellous Gwen! Do envy your super family get togethers!! The art work came out well too. Amazing what you can do when put on the spot! Our in-house painter, Rob, is very impressed!

    Like

I love comments!