Day 9 of our Victorian Road Trip: Geelong to Rosebud

A very different touring day than yesterday, as we start with an early departure for the easy half hour drive from Geelong to Queenscliff, passing farms and wineries along the way. We are aiming for the 9am ferry which will take us across the mouth of Port Phillip Bay to Sorrento.

If you take a look at the map above, you will note that all shipping into and out of Melbourne must pass through these heads as they make their way up or down the length of Port Phillip Bay. The section on the right, marked Frankston, Rosebud and Sorrento, is called the Mornington Peninsula.

We are headed for a two-night visit with our very dear friends who live in Rosebud. We haven’t seen each other for several years and we are very excited to be together again. And it is the first time that Bill and I have taken the ferry, and we are looking forward to that experience. We’ve left the satnav on, and I notice as we wait in the boarding queue, our lady who lives in there keeps repeating, “take the ferry” in an imperative voice. I think it is hilarious. “Well, I am not intending to walk on water, love,” I think.

The Searoad Queenscliff to Sorrento ferry is an hourly service. We watch the ferry appear out of the misty haze (the weather is still cool), the captain drops it snugly into position, and then the jaws open like some ravenous beast. Out spill the Queenscliff arrivals, and on we go.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The crossing takes about forty minutes and we grab breakfast on board. As we near Sorrento we admire some of the exclusive homes on the Portsea clifftop, including one with a helicopter in the yard.

Sorrento is a pretty and popular tourist destination with a crescent shaped beach and foreshore area. We drive past a hotel I remember us all going to one Easter more than twenty-five years ago, and feel a pang when I remember another girlfriend who was with us that day who is no longer with us now. All the more reason that this is a long-overdue special visit. We have been friends since we were thirteen years old, but have never lived in the same state since adulthood. So we don’t get together often.

The twenty minute drive to Rosebud hugs the shore line; and then we are there! They are planning a street party with their neighbours this afternoon, so we need to pop out for some groceries. Time for a spin in the convertible! Now that’s what I call shopping in style.

It was a great party. My girlfriend and her husband are generous and relaxed hosts. All the neighbours from the street attended, and it was a privilege to meet them. Everyone made us feel very welcome 🙂 A wonderful treat in the run up to Christmas day.

bec-in-her-merc-11-dec-2016-2-1024x577

Sunday, 11th December 2016Image result

10 thoughts on “Day 9 of our Victorian Road Trip: Geelong to Rosebud

  1. WOW I love that ferry, how long has that been there? I’d sure like a trip on that, not as good as the Manly ferry obviously but what a ride’

    Those heads are a curse at times; when we arrived off Melbourne April 1951, there was one hell of a storm raging, and we had to ride it outside the Heads for two full days and nights. The ship we were on was petty old, built around 1927, been torpedoed twice in WW,II and survived, only to be used to transport £10 Poms to Australia.

    There’s a picture of this ship so,mewhere on my blog, if you’re interested. ‘The MV Cheshire’

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hmmm, I think the first Spirit of Tasmania of this construction type came into service in the early 2000s. I think there are three in the fleet. Do you remember seeing the news reports last year about one of them breaking its moorings during a storm and smashing on to the wharf? Loaded?Once upon a time we could go to Tasmania directly from Sydney on one of the Union Steamship vessels (my husband was employed by the stevedoring arm, Union Bulkships). But when they lost the contract to bring up newsprint they withdrew from the market, and that’s when TT Line really came to the fore. I found some photos of your MV Cheshire on the net. Built for the Bibby Line in 1927. Now that same line has another MV Cheshire but it is a bulk carrier. When yours served as an armed merchant cruiser and troopship, and later an emigration vessel, guess you could say it carried bulk of another kind! boom, boom.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Back in the early 1960’s I ferried a vehicle for Avis from Melbourne to Hobart on the POT, Melb/Devonport and a leisurely drive down to Hobart. Came back Ansett; I was working for Ansett at MLD, so I came back first class for free. The good old days

        Liked by 1 person

          • Actually he asked me if I’d like to sign on the ships company, at 16, I suppose it could have been as a cabin boy, but I don’t think so,not at 16 bit old for a cabin boy; and anyway, all the menial tasks seemed to be done by the Laskars.

            Perhaps he meant as some kind of midshipman. Had he have said it might have made quite a difference, in which case I wouldn’t be here annoying as many as I can. 😈

            I’ll never know, but I sometimes wish I had signed on, I have no doubt my mother would have approved, she came from a seafaring family

            Liked by 1 person

          • Lucky sod. I would have liked to serve at sea. The closest I got was roaming the Port Adelaide waterfront as a house clerk. The only female not stuck in the office at that time. You came out around 1952 didn’t you? How were the Lascars treated by then?

            Like

I love comments!

