Guest Post: Jay in Split

Hello Gwen’s readers. Gwen isn’t well and has asked me to  be a guest ‘blogger’ and write briefly about  Waddy’s and my evening in Split. Tomorrow  morning we are picking up a hire car and a GPS.  It’s Bill’s turn to drive and we are heading for Plitvice Lakes in the northern part of Croatia.

Waddy waiting on the train

Waddy waiting on the train

Stray dog looking cute

Stray dog looking cute

The cute dog's mate

The cute dog’s mate

While waiting to have a ride on a miniature train this afternoon, (from the harbour we did a loop around Park S(h)uma Marijan), I snapped a photo of a cute looking dog rolling around in a garden full of lovely flowers. …..  he had an itchy back! Then he and his friend commenced barking at a man walking past, and although they didn’t attack him, they kept on following him. Finally he gave them the ‘slip’ by going into a shop. We wondered what he had in his bag as they didn’t pay attention to anyone else.

A quick snap of the passing scenery in the park

A quick snap of the passing scenery in the park

The train ride was only $4 per person and was a pleasant way to spend nearly an hour. The driver had a Croatian music CD playing for ambience! This park has been used by Split residents and visitors since the 3rd century for recreational purposes! The history surrounding 4 humble Australians on our “Grand European Tour” as Gwen so eloquently states, is astonishing.
I have included a photo of a didgeridoo busker – not because of any homesickness reasons but because I noticed he had tremendous abs! A six pack in fact – I told Gwen it’s because he plays the didgeridoo – so, when we go home, you guessed it – didgeridoo lessons for us!!

Culturally confused didgeridoo player

Culturally confused didgeridoo player

Mussels and dumplings for my dinner

Mussels and dumplings for my dinner

Hopefully Gwen will feel better tomorrow and can resume her writing. I enjoy reading her blogs. It’s wonderful having a literary friend who is sharing the same holiday!       Regards, Jay
Sunday 7th July 2013

5 thoughts on “Guest Post: Jay in Split

  1. Well done blogger Jaz!
    Hope Gwen you will b well again soon.
    I look forward so much to your news – I feel like I am there with u! Love the photos!! The holiday blog has really got me in and I find I am dreaming about where u will b the next instalment!! Pls do have a swim for me – I can only imagine how stunning it all is!!

    Like

I love comments!

