Cruising: Hvar to Vela Luka

Harbour scene Vela Luka

Harbour scene Vela Luka

Another harbour scene Vela Luka

Another harbour scene Vela Luka

It’s a slow news day today. We chugged out of Hvar harbour this morning, all the cruise boats uncoupling and sailing away one by one. Before too long we dropped anchor again, in a secluded bay off the island of Korcula. Plenty of time for swimming and sunbathing.

Just one more step back Bill - it should be a great shot

Just one more step back Bill – it should be a great shot

Today marks the fifth week since we arrived in Europe, so it is well time that we let ourselves relax. I am trying to read The Bridge over the River Drina, by Ivo Andric, a Yugoslav who was winner of the Nobel Prize in literature. I should have finished it long before I stepped foot in Bosnia, but we have been busy, and it is a complicated read. I managed a few chapters today.

Random street scene Vela Luka

Random street scene Vela Luka

Don't be batting your eyelashes at me!

Don’t be batting your eyelashes at me!

Waddy wants me to make particular mention of our captain. He says he docks the boat as gently as a fairy’s fart. That’s Waddy’s expression, and he was keen for it to make it to the blog. I have let it through as I am scraping for today ‘s blog post. I am happy to pass any complaints and feedback back to Waddy. Please just treat me as the middleman reporter.

We could have taken the optional tour to an olive oil grove and winery but we passed on that. Instead, we wandered a little around the town of Vela Luka, a small town on the western side of the island of Korcula (the other side from where we started the cruise last Saturday). It may be a small town, but it has a big harbour, which is exactly what Vela Luka means.

Junior scullers - Vela Luka

Junior scullers – Vela Luka

Don't lean over!

Don’t lean over!

The big surprise was in the evening after dinner. We were entertained on board by a Klapa group – male singers performing harmonies either without musical accompaniment, (a cappella style), or with just an accordion, guitar and mandolin (or tambourica – a similarly shaped local instrument). They sang for well over an hour, beautiful local ballads and traditional music. The voices ranged through tenor, baritone and bass. The harmonies were superb. It was a special treat, sitting out on the back deck of the Adriatic Pearl, sipping drinks as the sun set and night fell over the bay of Vela Luka, and being entertained by our own personal group.

It doesn’t get much better than this.

image

Some of the singers with our cruise director and a fellow cruiser

Some of the singers with our cruise director and a fellow cruiser

Wednesday 3rd July 2013 , Garrulous Gwendoline, Vela Luka,

PS: I wish to thank everyone who is taking the time to post ‘likes’ and make comments on the blog posts. I appreciate the feedback. It encourages me greatly. I do try to respond to every comment, and to acknowledge the likes from new people as I go along. I am new to the world of blogging, so I am not sure if responses go back to the originator’s email, or just sit up on the blog post and you have to find it yourself. Also, if you are not a fellow blogger, and have registered in order to make comments, I am stripping out surnames and email addresses as a nod to your privacy.
So I hope it does not look on your side as if I am ignoring you 🙂
And to all those people who have jumped on board as followers – thank you immensely. It is a great honour to write for you. GG

3 thoughts on “Cruising: Hvar to Vela Luka

  1. Hey Gwen – am reading your blogs with great pleasure. You write so well and vividly that it is easy to be transported and feel that I am travelling with you, Bill, Jay and Waddy. And the photos too! Fabulous!! So pleased you are having a wonderful time. Saw a lovely picture of you and Bill sharing a kiss. Lovely! I have read ahead and know you are feeling poorly, so hope you are feeling better very soon. Much love as always.

    Like

  2. Hi Gwen, I’m Raffaella (remember me?)
    Sorry for my bad english, but I will try to speak well!
    I think that your trip is very beautiful and interesting, the photo are very nice and realistic.
    I guess that you are a little tired for all the trip, but also satisfacted for all the beautiful things that you had see all over the world!
    I hope reading other e-mails so I can dream too 🙂

    Like

  3. Loved Korcula. Loved the fact that the streets were easy to manage, food was good, fascinating churches and the link with Marco Polo. BTW Pauline is getting great enjoyment from your posts as I fwd them to her and occasionally print one or two off for Nancy. Both are well.

    Like

I love comments!

