Fifty-Five Days with Gwen

It is not actually true that I have too much time on my hands.  In fact, I have been having a quiet meltdown in the lead-up to an overseas trip.  There is much to arrange.  Four months is a long time to leave your ‘normal’ life behind, and the expedition has co-incided with a period in my life when I seem to have several projects on the go.

We are spending half of the travel time with our neighbours, Waddie and Jay.

Waddie has been walking around for the last six months with his head in his hands.

“Ohhhh, nooooooo.  Fifty-five days with Gwen,”  he moans and shakes his head from side to side, faking a migraine.  “Ohhhhh, Ohhhhh.”

So I did the only reasonable thing to put the poor man out of his misery.  We extended the time together to fifty-eight days.  Watch this space for more stories of Waddie in pain ……♥

We hadn’t always planned a trip of this length.  Originally it might have been for just one month.  Mid last year I had finished university, regained a corporate job, lived away from home during the week, and was wondering whether it would be feasible to have four weeks off in a year’s time, so we could hook up with Waddie and Jay somewhere on their journey.  Then about four months into the job, my contract was terminated suddenly.  They did me a favour really – sometimes you need a shock to shake you out of your established thinking.  The termination was certainly a shock, and it certainly changed my way of thinking.

So we took the only reasonable course of action possible when your future livelihood is threatened.  We decided to spend all the money we had saved from my working, and go travelling for as long as it takes.

We are not the only people in this complex who are travelling this year.  It seems we have all shaken off the doom and gloom of the global financial crisis and decided to take off for weeks at a time, both within Australia and all points elsewhere.  I have been forced to study economics twice in my life-time, but I cannot explain the underlying factors that have created this optimism.  Some people still have accounts that are frozen, and interest rates have fallen to a record low – not good for us retirees living on savings (although great for our children trying to pay down a mortgage) – and the world economy is still a rollercoaster ride.

So we should be more cautious.  But we are not.  We have moved through the stage of life where we are working to live.  Now we just want to live and love life.

Five more sleeps ………….. Bring it on.                             Happy Landings

Garrulous Gwendoline,

Wollongong May 23, 2013

4 thoughts on “Fifty-Five Days with Gwen

  1. Pingback: Rambling around Richmond | The Reluctant Retiree

  2. Well Gwenny on your way, I bet you let out a big sigh when the plane took off. I’m sure you and Bill will have a great time, and I will enjoy following your Blog. Are you going to wash your clothes in the shower this time? If I recall the last time you went, showers were not so great. But I’m sure you’ll work somthing out.

    Like

  3. Looking vicariosly forward to your adventure because I have been grounded after our trip next year to Asia.
    If you have too much time on your hands, you might like to assist with the magazine when you get back that I am suggesting at the meeting on Tuesday night to show the lifestyle of the Links (like we had when Horizon started). We need people who can write articles and organise layout etc. Just like you. We could produce one every 3 months. But I dont think we can go ahead unless we get at least 10 people interested in participating. Let me know what you think.
    As far as Waddie is concerned I saw him filling up on a big takeaway this week, so I hope you can keep the food up to him.
    Have a great time
    Gary

    Like

    • Thanks Gary. It’s great to get feedback. Count me in for the writing project. In the meantime, I hope I can bring our travels to life for you, just as if you were with us every step of the way. We’ll be thinking of you all back home. GG

      Like

I love comments!

